top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatrina Stotts

Communication because of the Atonement of Jesus Christ—in Time, Depth, and Love.



Hello friends! First of all, quick update with Silver Linings!

I’m holding off on Elias’s story for a couple of weeks while things are crazy and I’m in finals with school, but soon following his story, I have another that I am so excited to share with you of my friend Stephanie and the experience she had from being held hostage as a little girl in the Cokeville, Wyoming miracle.

With all of the craziness from the Coronavirus pandemic, I wanted to share something that has been on my mind recently, and I hope it is of some help to anyone needing some hope at this time.

Through many times of searching and changing my major, I finally landed on Communications with an emphasis in Strategic Organizational Advocacy and Social Media. It has been so worth all of the changes, and I have thoroughly enjoyed it!

If you know me, I love people. I love talking to people, I love hearing other’s stories, and being an advocate for others. Communications has been that perfect fit for me that has also helped me better understand the importance of relationships, handling conflict, being okay with conflict, creating unity, and so much more.

It’s funny to me that I chose the field of communications because growing up I always felt like I struggled with words and the verbal part of communicating. I had a hard time knowing what to say in certain situations, finding the right words to help someone, and simply just sharing how I feel. Haha, I used to say that this was because I was raised with five brothers, but these boys and now men I was raised with have taught me a different part of communication that I want to focus on today.

In communications, we have something called “Interpersonal Communications.” Interpersonal communications is made up of verbal and non-verbal messages and is a process of exchanging feelings, ideas, thoughts, etc. between individuals. So, this considers words that you say, but also how you say it, your tone of voice, body language, and much more. In simple terms, I like to say that it’s pretty complicated because there is so much going on all at once. Kind of like hitting a golf ball, right dad?

This week I’ve been thinking about communications in terms of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, which is entirely focused on the Savior and those things that he has done for you and me personally. As he knelt in the Garden of Gethsemane, he literally suffered for us all, and I see this as one of the greatest moments of communication that has become infinite in time, depth, love, and much more.

10. And behold, he shall be born of Mary, at Jerusalem which is the land of our forefathers…

11. And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people.

12. And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.

13. Now the Spirit knoweth all things; nevertheless, the Son of God suffereth according to the flesh that he might take upon him the sins of his people, that he might blot out their transgressions according to the power of his deliverance; and now behold, this is the testimony which is in me.” (Alma 7:10-13)

Pay special attention to verse 12, which says, “…that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.”



We have a very unique opportunity of a relationship with our Savior Jesus Christ that we don’t have with anyone else, besides the Holy Ghost, and a loving Heavenly Father who knows us perfectly. But, what seems like a minuscule of time compared to all time, those moments in Gethsemane and on the cross at Golgotha made it possible for our Savior to have this unique form of communication with us.

When we suffer and are in pain and can’t necessarily put that into words, our Savior knows and understands. When we’ve suffered loss from plans changing, death of a loved one, or diagnosis of a disease and can’t explain to anyone how we truly feel or hurt, our Savior knows. When we are so ecstatic because we have finally accomplished a goal, received wonderful news, or have overcome something that has taken a lot of time and hard work, our Savior knows.

When you feel sad, let down, discouraged, etc. rely on this relationship. Because when nobody could possibly fully understand your pain, joy, and hurt, he can. His love and sacrifices made it possible to descend below all things just so that he could know, feel, and understand exactly how to give you strength and help.

This morning, my husband was able to administer the sacrament to myself and himself from home. It was a very special moment as I watched him kneel in order to give the sacrament prayers, bless the bread and water, uncover the bread and water, and administer each to me. I thought again of this wonderful communication we get to have with our Savior because of everything that he did and made possible.

We can be forgiven, we can be understood, we can receive help through sickness, we can be loosed from the bonds that death brings,

He is your greatest advocate and support. There is no communication like those moments where our Savior took it all upon himself so that he could continue to “succor his people according to their infirmities.”

He loves you. While scary and sad things are happening around us that we don’t know what the outcome will be, through that communication, we can find peace, hope, and stillness amongst the chaos.

Enjoy this time in any way that you can with those who are around you and remember to keep on looking for the Silver Linings. I love you all and hope that you are safe.

Katrina Xxx


Enjoy this short video by one of my favorite little girls :)


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page